Tuesday Toot!! | H’Excel a random ‘Hex Crawl’ generator (and editor) using Excel

Tuesday TootG+ is closing closed. When it was alive things happened. Things unexpected. Great things. Whilst my creative output is only modest, I thought I’d hold something up into the living light, something that came about purely because G+ existed … This is a toot to G+.

Background:
H'Excel 101On a four hour train journey I decided to try something new. Rather amazingly, the idea worked first time. Since then H’Excel has had a bunch of iterative tweaks, like staggering the cells in Excel.

H’Excel can do a bunch of things (see features below), but at its core it is a random Hex Crawl terrain generator and editor.

Here’s a demo video:
The key features are explained in the below demo video:

xls  Download: Link

Features:

  • Randomly generates a ‘Hex’ map (i.e. squares in a hexagonal array)
  • Global settings – raise or lower the terrain of the whole map
  • Regional settings – raise or lower the terrain in a portion of the map
  • Screen capture mode (‘Snap Map’)
  • Edit mode – generate a map and tweak it, or build the map from scratch
  • Customisable random encounter tables
  • Refresh encounter (but keep the map the same)
  • In Hex locations, for encounter locations etc.

– – –

InHotS the cover imageMe on DriveThruDriveThru; at the moment I’m mainly pimping my procedural High Seas ‘Hex Crawl’ – In the Heart of the Sea.

1 thought on “Tuesday Toot!! | H’Excel a random ‘Hex Crawl’ generator (and editor) using Excel

  1. Max

    I could have used this like a month ago haha >.<! This is awesome! Your main hexmap tool is great, but I really struggle just to even get started, especially with visuo-spatial stuff. Having a tool to randomly generate it gives me a good point of reference to build off of, and then I can tweak it as needed.

    I don't do much excel coding, but it would be cool to try integrating this into the hexenbracken (https://github.com/maxcan7/hexenbracken). I'm not the original creator, but I've updated it to python3 and made some other changes, but this would be a major QoL addition!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment