Law & (In)Justice | … a Procedural Trial by Jury Hex Flower Game Engine

Edit: A higher quality .pdf version can be found here: Law & (In)Justice
and a template Hex Flower Engine can be found here: Template

This Hex Flower is for procedurally resolving the situation where the PCs are on trial by jury (niche much?). To be fair, I figured this engine might make for a fun mini-game, rather than throwing the PCs directly in jail (and dealing with their inevitable break out).

Personally, I think the engine is most fun when the PCs are innocent and there is a corrupt Judge ( … snigger!)

Well, here it is:

L&IJ Cover Image u.png

Where did this idea come from?
I’m glad I asked for you. I really liked this Blog post, which came up with the idea of using different navigation Hexs for a 2D6 19 Hex Flower (HF), depending on the situation, i.e. the NPC’s nature.

Then, I was listening to the new (to me) Spikepit Podcast, and Colin briefly talked about a mechanism for putting the PCs on trial. So, that got me thinking about using a HF to procedurally generate trial outcomes.

And then I realized, I could use different Navigation Hexs to discriminate between guilty and innocent PCs. Of course, in D&D there’s going to be corruptions and what not, so there is a bit if that and some ‘game point’s for the players to spend in order to bend the outcome (but spend wisely)!

Background

If you’ve got no idea what this post is about, the below links give some context:

– – –

InHotS the cover imageMe on DriveThruDriveThru; at the moment I’m mainly pimping my procedural High Seas ‘Hex Crawl’ – In the Heart of the Sea.

2 thoughts on “Law & (In)Justice | … a Procedural Trial by Jury Hex Flower Game Engine

Leave a comment